The purpose of the Honor Code is to encourage professional and academic integrity at the University of Mississippi School of Law. Integrity itself maintains the legal profession. Academic integrity fosters common respect and accountability and is best implemented through rehabilitative efforts and enforcement. The nature and purpose of the Law School’s Honor Code System is to allow the students the greatest possible freedom in the pursuit of their studies without the necessity of supervision or proctoring by the faculty. It further purports to develop the highest possible professional standards of honesty, dependability and absolute integrity in the student body in all matters pertaining to the law and to legal studies. Enrollment in the Law School constitutes a student’s pledge that he or she will in all matters conduct himself or herself in accordance with the provisions herein stated. Section 1.2 addresses the specific types of conduct and behavior subject to the Honor Code.

View full Honor Code (pdf)

If you need to report an honor code violation, please download and complete the Honor Code Violation Form, and e-mail it to Michael Shoptaw, Honor Council Chair:

Honor Council Members

Chair: Michael Shoptaw:

Secretary (Vice Chair): Clara Van Horn

Investigation Committee Chair: Spencer Durden

Attorney General: Jessica Rice

1L Representatives: Catherine Norton, Amber Tidwell, & Kelsey Thomas

2L Representatives: Shayna Giles, Spencer Durden, & Matt Beaird

3L Representatives:  Clara Van Horn, Austin Emmons, & Michael Shoptaw