2019 Mentoring Conference

BYC Mentoring Conference Spring 2019

Friday, March 29, 2019

UM Law School, Oxford, Mississippi

The mission of the Bessie Young Council Mentoring Conference is to provide learning and networking opportunities for non-traditional law students and young lawyers.  Through its annual conference, the Bessie Young Council will share the experiences of its member attorneys and others in the field to help foster successful careers for those law students and young lawyers who may encounter unique obstacles along the way.

Please click the button below to register.


Bessie Young Conference Schedule of Events

12:30-1:00PM: Check-in/Registration, Law School Atrium

1:00 – 1:10PM: Welcome from Dean Duncan, Weems Auditorium

1:10 – 1:45PM:  Keynote Speaker: Mary Ann Connell, Weems Auditorium

2:00 – 3:00 PM: SESSION ONE: First 5 Years (1 hour CLE credit), Room 2086 (2nd floor)
Panel for lawyers in their first five years of practice and the challenges/rewards of early practice with:

Brittany Barbee, Southern Poverty Law Center
Zeb Vance Baucum IV, Tullos and Tullos
Jeffrey Graves, Graves Legal Services
Rod Hickman, Brunini
Meredith Pohl, US Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

3:15 – 4:00PM:  SESSION TWO: (1 hour CLE credit for either), Room 2086 (2nd floor)
A) Transition into New Practice: Lawyers moving to partner and changing paths and lawyers who leave the legal practice for other things with:

Kimberly Campbell, State Director at AARP
Mary McKay Griffith, Jacks Griffith Luciano
Jamie Jacks, Plauché Maselli Parkerson, LLC
Tresa Barksdale Patterson, Watson Heidelberg

B) Judicial Panel: Lawyers running for judicial office, Room 2084 (2nd floor):

Tameika Bennett, Bennett Law Office, PLLC
Judge Cynthia Brewer, Madison County Chancery Judge 
Judge Crystal Wise Martin, Hinds County Chancery Judge

4:15 – 5:15PM: SESSION THREE, Room 1115, (1st floor by Einstein’s): Mentoring Speed Dating / Cocktail Hour — Mini-mentoring with Alumni and Students (only registered conference student attendees may register for this)

Judge Rhesa H. Barksdale, US Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, Jackson, MS
Laura Barbour, Watson Heidelberg, Jackson, MS
Debbie Bell, Senior Faculty, UM Law, Oxford, MS
Mike Carr, Carr Law Firm, Cleveland, MS
Judge Deb Davis, US Administrative Law Judge, Ret., Oxford, MS
Jeffrey Graves, Graves Legal Services, Jackson, MS
Katie Gilchrist, Gilchrist Donnell, Ridgeland, MS
Maison Heidelberg, Watson Heidelberg, Jackson, MS
Eric Patterson, Blair & Bondurant, Jackson, MS
Cynthia Speetjens, P.A.Criminal Defense, General, Madison, MS
Ann Corso Taylor, Jones Walker, Jackson, MS
Malissa Wilson, Forman Watkins, Jackson, MS
Susan L. Steffey, Watkins Eager, Jackson, MS

5:30PM:  Cocktail reception in Atrium. *In conjunction with Law Alumni Weekend and Admitted Students Day

Questions: Carol Mockbeeccmockbe@olemiss.edu.